42 SAF commandos receive Medal of Valor

Forty-two fallen troops of the Philippine National Police Special Action Force (PNP SAF) were awarded with the Order of Lapu-Lapu Magalong Medal and the PNP Medal of Valor at the Heroes Hall in Malacañang Palace on April 17, 2018.

“It comes late but better late than never,” the President said during the conferment ceremony in Malacañang.

Two of the fallen SAF 44 had already been awarded by former President Benigno Aquino III.

The officers were also awarded the Order of Lapu-Lapu or the Magalong Medal, aside from the Medal of Valor. The PNP Medal of Valor is the highest award of the PNP given to any member of the PNP who delivered an act of bravery and self-sacrifice above and beyond the call of duty.

“The extraordinary display of bravery during the faithful just does not qualify them to receive the highly coveted decoration, it makes them worthy to be called as heroes,” the President said.

On the other hand, the Magalong Medal is awarded to government officials and personnel plus private individuals who have rendered extraordinary service or contributions to the success of a campaign or advocacy of the President.

Add Comment